AMH is an independent media house free from political ties or outside influence. We have four newspapers: The Zimbabwe Independent, a business weekly published every Friday, The Standard, a weekly published every Sunday, and Southern and NewsDay, our daily newspapers. Each has an online edition.

  • Marketing
  • Digital Marketing Manager: tmutambara@alphamedia.co.zw
  • Tel: (04) 771722/3
  • Online Advertising
  • Digital@alphamedia.co.zw
  • Web Development
  • jmanyenyere@alphamedia.co.zw

Zim filmmakers scoop Bioskop awards

Danai Madondo

EUROPEAN Film Festival Zimbabwe (EuroFilmFestZW) yesterday announced winners of this year’s third edition of the Bioskop Short Film competition.

The competition is part of the EuroFilmFestZW 2022 programme, which is set to take place in Bulawayo from October 20 to 23 before coming to Harare on October 27 to 30.

Among the competition winners are locally-based film directors Mordekai Musonza and Danai Madondo.

Musonza scooped the Best Narrative award for the short film Pfungwa, while Madondo was the winner of the Best Sound Editing for the short film Exodus, respectively.

Speaking to NewsDay Life & Style, Madondo said when they created Exodus, they did not expect to win an award.

“We were just some young turks looking for an opportunity to create art and express ourselves… Bringing this award home is a life-changing experience for the hard-working creative wanderer, conscious creator and intuitive designer,” she said.

“The short film Exodus was created with no voice overs, no conversation, just visuals, music and sound effect. It displays how sound effect alone can provoke and narrate emotions.”

Exodus was co-directed by Derek Manyika who scooped the Best Cinematography award in the same competition.

Musonza said winning the award had given him more strength to work hard.

The Bioskop Short Film competition was adjudicated by an esteemed panel of judges that included local award-winning director and producer, Kalai Brown, Mattieu Eberrhardt from France, Los Angeles-based Zimbabwe-born actress Sibongile Mlambo and United States-based Zimbabwean actor Tongayi Chirisa.

Other competition winners included Zimbabwean Prosper Kunyetu who won Best Documentary award and Sinatha Nduna from South Africa who bagged the Best Diaspora Short Film award.

  • Follow Rejoice on Twitter @rejoicephi1998


Related Topics